Good Ol’Fashion Vitamin C

peels and powder

I wont go into all the details regarding the health benefits of vitamin C but I will tell you that the list of “other ingredient” on the back of my Emergen-C box includes: Fructose, Citric Acid, Natural Flavor, Tapioca Maltodextrin (easily digestible carbohydrates made from natural corn starch.  The starch is cooked, and then acid and/or enzymes are used to break the starch into smaller polymers), Malic Acid, Silica (primary use of the silica is to act as a flow agent, anti-packing agent, and water scavenger), Glycine, Aspartic Acid, Tartaric Acid, and Cysteine Hydrochloride.

I can also tell you that there are a few items in the above list that I don’t want to put in my body or my family’s! How else to get a dose of Good Old Fashion Vitamin C??

Make My Own!!

I simply saved the peels from my lemons and oranges (washed of course, organic is best) and left them out to dry.

peels

Once they were dry and brittle I tossed them into my food processor, a coffee grinder would have worked quicker but I don’t have one.

peels in processor

The finished product smells fabulous!!!

vitamin C

               I’ve added a teaspoon full to my tea and smoothies and even dissolved in 6oz of water for a quick boost! What else would you put it in?

 

Sources:

http://www.grainprocessing.com/food/maltodextrins-corn-syrup-solids.html

http://www.newton.dep.anl.gov/askasci/gen01/gen01308.htm

Just a mother of a toddler who has decided it is time to take care of herself and in turn take care of her family.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Food, Health
One comment on “Good Ol’Fashion Vitamin C
  1. Jillian says:

    Awesome!!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

