The Crockpot: Mom’s Best Friend

I’ve had a 6.5lb Beef Chuck Roast in my freezer that I’ve been trying to decide what to do with. I finally decided to thaw it out and let it feed us for a while! Now here is the problem: finding the time to cook creative dinners, supper time seems to be when my toddler requires the most attention! Normally I would prepare our dinners during nap time so that I could just throw them in the oven right before dinner. You see, when I made the decision to get some exercise I needed to find the time to do it and…you guessed it…I chose to squeeze my workouts in during nap time and Kaulin doesn’t nap long enough to do both!!

  SUCH A DILEMMA!!!

This is where the trusty crock pot comes in to solve the problem! I created three meals using my crock pot that would feed us for three nights with leftovers to feed us for at least 5 days at lunch time, ya I’m that good!

 

Meal #1 – CROCK POT POT ROAST

This is what I had on hand…

ingredients for pot roast

I chopped up all the veggies minus the garlic and tossed them into the pot (I did use a few potatoes, not pictured above).

IMG_20130212_104716_655

Next I patted the meat with flour and browned it in a little  hot Olive Oil.

chuck roast searing

Now for the best part…I put the beef in the pot and pressed the garlic. Smear the crushed garlic all over the top of the beef!

crockpot pot roast

Cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours. Can you just smell it??? Oh that garlic smelled soooooo yummy all day!

We feasted on pot roast dinner that night and it was melt in your mouth delicious. I also made some rolls with my sourdough starter and some italian garlic bread seasoning that I had in the pantry. But with a roast that large we sure had a ton of leftovers! My husband had pot roast sandwiches for lunch the next day on white bread with mayo and said it was the best sandwich he had in a long time (either my cooking sucks or it was a really good sandwich, I’m betting on the latter).

Meal #2 BBQ Pulled Beef Sammies

We went to my in laws for dinner the next night so I didn’t have to cook but the following night I pulled out my smaller crock pot and shredded/hand pulled half of the leftover roast, then topped it with some bbq sauce from (I used half Sweet Baby Ray’s Original and half The Salt Lick from Austin TX) Mixed it all up and set it on LOW while I brought my son to gymnastics. When we got back home my house smelled like a famous BBQ Joint in the heart of Texas! I whipped up some cole slaw and scooped the bbq beef onto some Kaiser Rolls…Another fabulous dinner with lots of praise from my boys. The leftovers fed us lunch for two days (and I’m ashamed to say that there is still a bit left in the fridge that I will need to *gasp* throw out *gasp*).

bbq pulled beef

Meal #3 Beef Stew

The next day we decided to go snowmobiling but I wanted to have a nice warm dinner to come home to so for my next magical trick I made beef stew (in the crock pot of course) with the other half of the “leftovers” from the pot roast dinner. I also re-heated the rolls I had made because one always needs some to dip into the stew!

Beef Stew

We had enough left over beef stew for 4 servings and will most likely be eating some of it tonight for dinner because I don’t feel like cooking! What do you do with your leftover pot roast?

Just a mother of a toddler who has decided it is time to take care of herself and in turn take care of her family.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Food, Uncategorized
One comment on “The Crockpot: Mom’s Best Friend
  1. […] and paprika then I browned it in coconut oil to lock in the flavor. Tossed it in the crock pot (Mom’s Best Friend) and surrounded it with sliced onions. Dumped my sauce over it and cooked it on low for 6 hours. I […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.