Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

The weatherman was predicting a blizzard…and it sounded like a good time to perfect my Roasted Red Pepper & Garlic Hummus!! Of course, as you are probably realizing, it has taken me a few days to post this for you all (Kaulin has kept me pretty darn busy sledding and snowman making with all this new snow).

Homemade Roasted Red Pepper & Garlic Hummus

I know pretty much know what goes into hummus and I’ve got it all in the pantry. So I decided to dive right in…

This is what I had in the pantry to use:

2 Red Peppers

1lb Bag of Chickpeas (dried)

2 Lemons

3T Tahini

2T EVOO

Fresh Garlic

Sea Salt

1 Heaping teaspoon of Curry Powder (I like Curry)

1/2 t each Coriander and Cumin

Black Pepper

 To start I soak a pound of chick peas dried, not canned and an entire large clove of garlic in water overnight. Here’s a hint: if you sprinkle a teaspoon of baking soda in the water it helps soften the chickpeas and makes a much creamier finished product.

chickpeas soaking

The next morning I fully intended to boil them on the stove but Kaulin had other plans for me….So I grabbed my trusty crock pot and tossed the whole soaking mess right in. Set it on low and let it go all day. Hint: Once they are soft and you can squish one between your tongue and the roof of your mouth they are good to go!

Chickpeas in crock

Once they were soft I drained them and dumped them into my food processor. While they were draining I prepped the red peppers, now when I say prepped I really mean…I cut them in quarters and put them in the oven on broil, SUPER EASY! I flipped them after they started to brown.

roasted peppers

Now here’s the hardest part (seriously, this is as hard as it gets). Squeeze the juice from two lemons! (And just because I could, I saved the squeezed lemons and put them in my water bottle! Love me some lemon water.) Hint: If you don’t have a lemon juicer (I do not and I don’t want to spend the money), roll the lemon on the counter pressing firmly, slice in half and “stab” the flesh with a fork multiple times, then stab it some more, now squeeze into container and strain out seeds. 

That was wicked hard huh?!?

fresh lemon juice

Now throw everything in the food processor and sit back and watch the magic!!

hummus in blender

CREAMY DELICIOUSNESS!!!

Homemade Roasted Red Pepper & Garlic Hummus

 And seriously, it makes a ton of the stuff, I had to give some away because there was no way I could eat it all!! I’m thinking about making up a few batches to sell at the local farmers market in the summer months!

Just a mother of a toddler who has decided it is time to take care of herself and in turn take care of her family.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Food
One comment on “Roasted Red Pepper Hummus
  1. sarah mock says:

    I can attest to the hummus! It was awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

